Skip to content

Young Athletes League

August 24, 2011

I have no recollection of where and when I first discovered Young Athletes League (YAL), no idea whatsoever – fo real. I just know the music is good so I played it on the radio. The next week I get an interesting email that reads: “HUGE thank you for spinning YAL in the past. ‘Monaco Sunglasses’ right? I don’t know if  I told you this before but I put that record out on my imprint, Ceremony, from here in my apartment in Brooklyn! so just the idea of Pierre’s (aka YAL) music being spun in Miami is a huge happy moment in my head and heart. Thank you!”

Small world and my pleasure! After all,  it is my job to play good music on the radio, the music is totally worth the airtime, Miami is happy to hear it, and I LOVE emails like that.

YAL’s info section on their facebook page says it all:

“YOUNG ATHLETES LEAGUE IS A SOUTH ONE LONDON EASTERN SYNTHETIC LOOP.  ROTATING GUITARS IN (E)MOTION. HI-NRG MIDI FAILURE; WATERBORNE SNARE MULTI-TRACKING; SURFING OUT OF SUSPENSE PARTIES LUXURIANT ON THE DANCE FLOOR. THAT WHICH WE CAN SAY IS ALL.”

They’ll be on tour with Active Child and Com Truise in September:

9/7 – The Black Cat Backstage (with Active Child & Com Truise) Washington, DC – 8:00 PM

9/8 – First Unitarian Side Chapel (with Active Child & Com Truise) Philadelphia, CA – 8:00 PM

9/10 – Bowery Ballroom (with Active Child & Com Truise) New York, NY – 9:00 PM

9/13 – Glasslands (with New Look & Brahms) Brooklyn, NY – 8:30 PM

Listen to them!

Young Athletes League – Monaco Sunglasses

Chad Valley x Young Athletes League – Ensoniq Funk (Young Athletes League’s Cruising Mix)

Buy:  We Only Feed Ourselves 12″

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

