Skip to content

Cinnamon Chasers

August 19, 2011

A couple years back I was DJing at Grand Central when a scruffy young lad named Edi came up to me asking if I had received the music he had sent me. He said his band’s name was Entresol and that he was a fan of my radio show. He told me I would love his stuff and to please look for his emails in my inbox. Mind you, I get tons of music submissions most of which are utter crap so I tend to heavily filter (no offense if you’ve sent something… I said most but not all). I later went home and listened to Entresol’s tracks, the rest is history.

Upon developing Nightdrive and Entresol’s working relationship we found out lots about Edi’s musical taste and influences. He highly suggested I listen to Cinnamon Chasers and I did…. I wasn’t too impressed with the first CC album. However, there’s a brand new album titled “Science” that just came out and it’s a HUGE improvement! I dig. It references disco, italo, and good’ ol electro pop. I’ll definitely be adding this one to WVUM‘s heavy rotation.

Here’s some interesting biographical fun facts from our friends at Wikipedia:

The Cinnamon Chasers is an alternative electro / Indietronica act from London, UK; the solo project of Russ Davies, nephew and son of Ray Davies and Dave Davies respectively (the two founding members of The Kinks), who is currently experimenting with philosophy and magic to create meaning amidst the randomness of existence. Russ has strong musical roots and cites early pioneers like Giorgio Moroder, Vangelis, Jean Michel Jarre, and KLF as key influences and leading to modern talent such as Alan Braxe, Rex The Dog, Junior Boys…

Cinnamon Chasers – Have I Said Something

Cinnamon Chasers – Magic Lover

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 7, 2011 10:24 am

    Gorgeous track.

Leave a Reply

