Skip to content

Southern Shores

July 22, 2011

If there’s a time and place I’ve been obsessed with for years I would have to admit it’s Club Med circa late 80s-early 90s. I actually went on a tropical Club Med getaway during that time where I fully memorized the lyrics and dance routine to Ottowan’s “Hands Up” at disco night and listened to Enya’s “Orinoco Flow” during evening sunsets.  I remember buying the Club Med compilation cassette tape upon departure and housing it in my Walkman  for months.

I heard the band Southern Shores a few weeks ago and immediately thought SOME of their tracks would fit great on one of those compilations (granted Southern Shores is a bit Chillwavey).  Ironically,  I went to Cascine‘s (record label) website to get more info on the band and they described the Southern Shores’ latest EP Atlantic as:

“…A series of songs with simple, resonant melodies. ‘Night Is Young’ pulses with scenes from the best party ever – a bonfire, sea foam on sand, dancing, watching the sun set slow and then rise too soon, until suddenly it’s not the fahrenheit or the far away that matters, but only being here, being now. Ethereal vocals wash over marimbas and steel drums on ‘Meridian,’ while ‘Take Me Anywhere’s’ exoticism is underscored by sweltering synths and the hum of jet engines. Atlantic brims with the promise of beautiful places left to explore, adventures yet to be had, and amazing people still to meet.”

Does that sound like a Club Med getaway or what?!

Southern Shores – Meridian

Southern Shores – Antibo

One Comment leave one →
  1. Urs permalink
    July 22, 2011 5:48 pm

    you brought it right to the point. I asked my son to take care for cool tunes as we are heading to Tel Aviv for a summer vacation next Tuesday. (Me to old to die young my son 16) He told me we have to listen to chillwave for the sunset on the beaches. Isn´t that cool of this young gun
    sorry about my English it is not my mother tongue. Anyway thanks for posting Southern Shores

Leave a Reply

