Skip to content

Metronomy

March 22, 2011

Today was beautiful, the weather was gorgeous, we got brand new Freegums WVUM T-Shirts, I had a private production tour of the Ultra Music Festival grounds, and I also got a copy of the new METRONOMY album! I’ve been waiting for The English Riviera to drop since I head about it months ago and I’ve been smiling since I got my copy at 4am.  It’ll be commercially available in April in the US.  You gotta understand this is one of my absolute favorite bands ever. I’ve played Pip Paine (Pay the £5000 You Owe), Nights Out, and every remix I can get my hands on on repeat for the last few years so I’m thrilled Metronomy has given me reason to update my ipod.

For those of you have been deprived of Metronomy:

The band was started by Joseph Mount 11 years ago in Devon after his dad sold him an outdated computer to make music with. Dude starts making electro pop and comes out with an album. DJs start digging it and playing it at clubs. Erol Alkan gets ahold of Mount and invites him for a gig at his venue. Mount obviously needs a live band at this point so he adds some peeps. He originally brings in Gabriel Stebbing and Oscar Cash but Stebbing leaves Metronomy later on. Today the band is made up of Joseph Mount (composer, singer, keyboards and guitar), Anna Prior (drums), Oscar Cash (saxophone, backing vocals and keyboards) and Gbenga Adelekan (bass guitar and vocals) and they fucking rock!

Metronomy – The Bay

Metronomy – Corinne

Check out our previous post on Metronomy

3 Comments leave one →
  1. james hunt permalink
    March 22, 2011 10:17 pm

    I can’t wait to hear the new album. You introduced me to their music while talking about them and playing their music on your Thursday’s rotation. Thanks for keeping Miami up-to-date and moving.

  2. anonette permalink
    March 26, 2011 8:10 am

    new metronomy! definitely, something to look forward to!

Trackbacks

  1. Beskidte Toner » Blog Archive ” LOW-KEY SUNDAY (03.04.2011)

Leave a Reply

