Skip to content

New From Fleet Foxes

January 31, 2011

It’s about time that my favorite nu-Americana folk quintet Fleet Foxes released something new!  After wowing me with their Sun Giant EP and their landmark self-titled full-length, it’s been about 2 years since their last release. Their second album, Helplessness Blues is set to be released May 3rd of this year off Sub Pop Records.  This time around, rumor has it that former Blood Brothers and Past Lives member Morgan Henderson has joined the Fleet Foxes line-up and that the new album will strive to have a more raw and honest sound.  Frontman Robin Pecknold is quoted as saying about recording the new album:

“…I want the recording to be like two weeks. I want it to be really fast. I want to do all the vocal takes in one go, so even if there are fuck-ups, I want them to be on there. I want there to be guitar mistakes. I want there to be not totally flawless vocals. I want to record it and have that kind of cohesive sound.”

We’ll see if this hold true. Based on the title track below, I sense more Simon and Garfunkel than Neil Young, but I doubt the album will disappoint.

DOWNLOAD:

Fleet Foxes- Helplessness Blues

Posted by Patrick

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

