Skip to content

Soda Shop Interview

January 21, 2011

Last month we introduced you guys to Soda Shop out of Brooklyn, NY. We’ve been fascinated with the 50s diner jukebox duo ever since so the obvious next step was to concoct a little blog interview. I’ve been listening to their track “Farewell” in the morning and it always seems to start my day out right (I also can’t get the line “…and we can have so much fun” outta my head).  If you want the band’s background info click here and for a more in-depth look check out the interview below:

ND:  Tell us about the Embassy show you guys met at in Brooklyn. Torbjörn (1/2 of the band) once described his shows as a bit of a spectacle. Was there anything that stood out about their performance that you would incorporate into your own shows?

DD: Well, I was actually playing with the Embassy on bass guitar, I’ve become good friends with them over the past two years, Torbjörn DJ’d our (Horse Shoes) set at Debaser Slussen in Stockholm. The show went well, by spectacle, I think Torbjörn means they are typically drunk prior to playing, so they dance and fumble around a bit. But at NYC, they were fairly sober and dead on.

MU: I had heard of their notorious craziness and was expecting a spectacle. Honestly they played and it was a perfect, fun and dancey set. Drew did a brilliant job with the bass.

ND: What is it about 1950s American culture that you find so captivating and influential?

DD: The simpleness of the song writing. Songs were to the point (under 3 minutes) and had a strong melody and catchy soulful lyrics.

MU: The simplicity of society back then as well. A more innocent time to be around, when necking at the drive-in was a thrill.

ND:  How do you guys balance being part of Soda Shop and your other respective projects (Horse Shoes & Selebrities) in terms of shows, marketing, and production?

DD: Soda Shop is still pretty fresh and in it’s construction phase as far as a live setup. With my other bandmate Jacob Graham being in the Drums, it leaves a chunk open for other projects. We only work on Horse Shoes together, so if he’s not around I turn my attention onto other ideas, I guess that’s where I fill the void with Soda Shop.

MU: I don’t sleep much. Jk! Somehow it has worked out really easy for me. Being good friends with Drew helps to schedule time to meet up and work on recording as well as watch a funny TV show.

ND: What other demographics does your music appeal to besides your typical young indie audience? What do people from your parents generation think?

DD: I think we’ve had a good reception all around, I know my mom (of course) and other family members had the music video to “Farewell” on repeat. I also have some friends who are in the goth/minimal wave scene who love it. I think the hooks, melody’s and melancholy vocals bring a little something for everyone. It’s simple and sparse, yet complete.

MU: My mom and dad love it. A lot of friends my age who listen to all kinds of music really enjoy it as well.

ND:  Who does what in the band? What instruments do each of you play? Who writes the lyrics and who composes the songs?

DD: I write and record all the instrumentation. I typically lay the ground work and send it to Maria who begins working on vocal melody’s and lyrics. I then record her and finish out the tracking to the songs.

ND:  Who is your favorite pop icon of the 1950s/60s and why?

DD: This is a toughie, I will have to say Colin Blunstone The Zombies were pure pop perfection and his voice, oh that voice!

MU: John Barry for creating that exceptional soundtrack to Beat Girl, amongst other films.

ND:  Coke or Pepsi?

DD: Coke! It’s an American staple. Of course nowadays you have to go out of the country to get the real stuff that doesn’t have corn syrup and all that junk in it.

MU: I would usually answer Coke. I tried Afri Cola in Berlin recently and it has become my favorite soda. I consume a lot of soda on a daily basis.

GRAB YOUR MP3s HERE

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

