Skip to content

Baths: A Short But Sweet Interview

June 5, 2010

Will Wiesenfeld’s solo project Baths can be compared to many of the newer no-fi dream-wave artists such as Washed Out, Neon Indian, Toro Y Moi, Million Young, and Small Black. It’s interesting to hear the differences between the East Coast and West coast versions of this genre. In my opinion Baths has more of a hip-hop influence, sounds a bit more upbeat at times, and crosses more styles of music than some of the other mentioned bands.

Wiesenfeld is from Chatsworth, California right outside of L.A. He was cool enough to take a few minutes out his busy schedule to answer a few questions for Nightdrive. He also wanted us to know about his new album “Cerulean”, which comes out July 6th. Exciting.

Nightdrive on Baths:

ND: How do you decide who to collaborate with or remix and who have you worked with so far?

BATHS: Basically artists whose music I respect and love. I’m super lucky to have made friends with some :) Not all these are available yet, but I’ve done remixes for The One AM Radio, Shlohmo, Fol Chen, Themselves, and Rafter,
and there may be more stuff in the works.

ND: I see that most of the shows listed on your myspace page are out west. Any plans of spreading some Baths love to the East coast in the near future?

BATHS: YES. Hopefully. I have a booking agent now, and that should make things MUCH easier!

ND: What artists would we find on one of your itunes/ipod playlists?

BATHS: !!!! dunno! been listening to a lot of relaxing stuff…
Doveman, The Radio Dept., Sam Amidon, Fennesz, Toro Y Moi, Ulrich Schnauss… to name a few?

ND: Do you think bloggers should have the liberty to post mp3s on their blogs without consent from artists? Do you see it as a promotional tool or as infringement on artists’ rights?

BATHS: I think it’s fine for the most part, but I think there’s a degree of common courtesy missing in that weird realm of file sharing. I don’t mind people sharing my stuff, it is a WONDERFUL promotional tool, but it’s always nice to have to someone ask you first. Same with anything in life- I let friends borrow my clothes and stuff all the time,
and a please + thank you makes it that much easier for me to share the things I love :)

ND: How often do you take Baths?

BATHS: As often as possible! It’s my escape, my relaxation, my winding down. I’m definitely a bit of a hedonist,
and bathing is the easiest means of getting that all-around comfortable feeling.

ND: What are you working on now? Anything new coming out?

BATHS: Just waiting until my first Baths album “Cerulean” comes out July 6th.
I’m always working on new stuff, and there should be more music and stuff floating around sooner or later!

Free Tracks:

Baths -Animals (rough mix)

Baths – Maxiamlist (rough mix)

Baths – Heart (Daedelus’ Snorelaxed Remix)

Posted by Laura Sutnick (L of M)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

