Skip to content

Celebration!

May 25, 2010

Celebration

I know I know this is about 3 years young or whatever but this post is purely out of love love love for the Baltimore-based trio known as Celebration! It was back in early 2008 when I first got the chance to hear Modern Tribe (the band’s 2nd full length album on 4AD Records).

I guess I’m posting this because as of late, I’ve been dying to see them live (hopefully soon?). This is the type of music that makes your day a bit brighter, believe me. I heard this record while working at a large retail store, which is always pretty hectic and sometimes crazy… Anyways, this day was no exception but I specifically remember myself smiling the second this record started to play throughout the store. It takes a special sound to make you feel like everything is perfect and what a pleasant surprise it is when it does, of course.  Something about that gritty gospel sound they produce is quite exhilarating to say the least. Mix that with Katrina Ford’s alluring vocal style and shit loads of percussion and you get an amazing record! Having been produced by TV On the Radio‘s David Sitek, Modern Tribe also includes the help of other TOTR members on various tracks. So do yourself a favor and please please please pick this up if you haven’t already yet, it’ll make your day – It made mine, way back then.

Celebration’s Official Website

Downloads:

Celebration – Evergreen

Celebration – Pony

Celebration – Hands Of My Gold

Posted by: Moshe

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 25, 2010 1:46 am

    yay!!! <3 Celebration!

Leave a Reply

